Friday, April 19, 2019 ..:: Chapter Information » Awards ::..


The Healthcare Financial Management Association (HFMA) recognizes that its strength lies in volunteers, who contribute their time, ideas and energy to serve the healthcare industry, their profession, and one another. Active participation in HFMA at the national, regional and or chapter levels provides members with numerous opportunities for professional development, information, networking and advocacy. Several award series have been established not only to recognize and acknowledge individual participation but also to recognize chapter participation and standards of excellence.

Individual Awards

Founders Merit Award Series
Is a series of awards that have been established to “Recognize the Volunteer in You.” This series rewards the individual member for volunteer activity on the local, regional and national level. This system has been established to promote continuous active participation in HFMA
  • The William G. Follmer Bronze Award
          The award was named after William G. Follmer, who is credited with the creation of the American Association of Hospital Accountants (AAHA) which is now HFMA.
          The award is granted after an individual has earned 25 member points.
  • The Robert H. Reeves Silver Award
          The award was named after Robert Reeves who was an organizing member of the AAHA, was elected president of AAHA in 1956 and was instrumental in creating the structure of AAHA. The award is granted after an individual has earned 59 member points.
  • The Frederick T. Muncie Gold Award
          The award honors Frederick T. Muncie, an organizing member of the AAHA, and the first president of the association (1947-1949). Muncie also assisted in the organization of the first AAHA chapter (First Illinois)
  • The Founders Medal of Honor

          This prestigious award recognizes an individual who has been actively involved in HFMA for at least three years after earning the Muncie Gold Award, has provided significant service at the chapter, regional and or national level in at least two of those years and remains a member in good standing. The award is conferred on the recommendation of the chapter’s board of directors.

Stephen A. Ryan Memorial Award
This award is presented by the Board of Directors of the Metropolitan New York Chapter to and individual who has excelled in his or her work for the Chapter and or has made a significant contribution in the financial field or healthcare management.

Frederick C. Morgan Individual Achievement Award
This award was designed to recognize a single HFMA member for outstanding contribution to the Healthcare Financial Management Association as a result of substantial activity over the course of a career.

Chapter Awards

The Robert M. Shelton Award for Sustained Chapter Excellence
This award is presented each year to a chapter judged as displaying exemplary service to members over a sustained period of the immediate past five years.

The Helen M. Yerger Award
This award recognized outstanding chapter performance in categories of Collaboration, Education, Improvement, Innovation, Member Communications, Member Service, and Membership Recruitment and Retention.
  • Education
          Recognizes a singular educational program.
  • Member Communication
          Recognizes a chapter’s overall member communications program, including newsletters, news briefs, hotline, audio/video and electronic communications.
  • Membership Recruitment and Retention
          Recognizes the plan, process, results and innovation of the chapter’s membership recruitment and retention process.
  • Collaboration
          Recognizes a collaborative effort with another organization outside of HFMA.
  • Innovation
          Recognizes an innovative program, service or project
  • Member Service
          Recognizes excellence and results in a singular program, service or project.
  • Improvement
          Recognizes significant improvement in a program, service, project or overall chapter efforts.

Awards of Excellence
This award recognizes chapters who have achieved outstanding performance in the areas of education, certification and membership growth and retention.

  • Awards of Excellence for Education
          Recognizes chapters that achieve outstanding performance in educational programming.
  • Awards of Excellence for Certification
          Recognizes chapters that achieve outstanding performance in certification support. The honor is based on an increase in the number of chapter members who pass a certification examination in the chapter year.
  • Awards of Excellence for Membership Growth and Retention

          Recognizes chapters that achieve outstanding performance in membership growth and retention. The honor is based on the percent of net membership growth at the end of the chapter year.

The C. Henry Hottum Award for Educational Performance Improvement
Recognizes chapters that achieve a significant increase in educational performance from one year to the next. The award is based on exceptional growth in registrant hours over the last year.
About Us | Officers and Board | Committees | Become Involved | Awards | Chapter Milestones | Photos | Resources | Bylaws | President’s Message | Policies | Scholarship
Terms Of Use |  Privacy Statement |  Copyright 2008 by HFMA Metro NY Chapter